Riley is hit! Carry your puppy from the warzone!
Call of Duty has always been a fun ride, full of tension and drama. Ghosts cranks it up to a Micheal Bay movie on every mission, except the Infinity Ward must have a stealth/sniper mission. I have never been let down in a COD single player campaign, until now.
Graphical this is a feast for the eyes, because every f*cking thing blows up at some point and time. Booom, booom, booom, booooooooom. FIRE EVERYWHERE, DEATH, DESTRUCTION! BOOM! You played COD? Well, now play COD BOOM! Nearly every mission, you start out fine, then sh*t goes FUBAR and you escape. The formula is tiresome for me.
I judge all COD single player campaigns to the best one in my book, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Of course you have explosions, tension and drama; but this campaign was restrained for story. Maybe I need to replay this, but it was just so much more refined to me in my memory. I have been entertained by all of the story until this one, well I was entertained but it was a big let down. Hell, I liked World at War's campaign, choppy and disjointed. VASILI!
This campaign description is going to be spoiler full. You are the son of a member of the elite military commando group called the Ghosts. Super soldiers with a penchant to cause havoc and death everywhere they go. You and your brother enter just as the United States is attacked by the Federation, South America united to take over the world. They take over the US ODIN tungsten rod shooter in orbit. Your world goes FUBAR. Hey, you are now enlisted in the global onslaught to stop the Federation in completely invading the US. The military finds that a previous member, Rorke of the GHOSTS squad from years past has turned. Typical flashback mission. Rorke, is hunting Ghosts, his old crew. You hunt him down. This is where I had lost my faith in the narrative. Okay,...we found him, kill him. Dust off your hands, no more problems from this dick. I even tried, and failed the mission. My thoughts instantly went to the Austin Powers movie and that he will escape...
Dr. Evil: Scott, I want you to meet daddy's nemesis, Austin Powers
Scott Evil: What? Are you feeding him? Why don't you just kill him?
Dr. Evil: I have an even better idea. I'm going to place him in an easily escapable situation involving an overly elaborate and exotic death.
Then this...
Scott Evil: I have a gun, in my room, you give me five seconds, I'll get it, I'll come back down here, BOOM, I'll blow their brains out!
Dr. Evil: Scott, you just don't get it, do ya? You don't.
Noooooooo...We must take him captive and extend this ridiculous trodden and played out game. Guess what? He escapes, all Dark Knight Rises, Bane from the plane style. We must hunt him down again. BOOM BOOM BOOM! Save the World! We found him, all Infinity Ward/ (now Treyarch) grab the gun style, slow motion, unstable situation, SHOOT HIM! Wahoo, I killed him! Wow, that was "intense", screen fades to black. Guess what...? F*ck you Infinity Ward and friends! Get a little more original instead of recycling. You took the easy way out. I miss Captain Price and his take no prisoners attitude.
I have never been so disappointed in a COD game. Sometimes the multi player is lacking, but the single player is a strong counterpart. They really sh*t the money pile bed on this one. The multi-player (IN MY OPINION) is the worst I have played. Maps are too big, not enough cover, and they are not enough players populating the maps. I am not a sniper. I am not a camper. I like the run and gun, because I had been forced to take that mantle in previous games. You step out of cover and you dead. They left the frantic multi-player for the slow and steady, sneaky-sneaky, hiding behind the weeds game. Call of Duty: Ghosts is a MEH INU, for me. Another thing is the hit boxes seemed off to me. I would throw bullets into an enemy and they would act if they were simply grazed after getting two to the dome. WTF. No more day one releases for me on this series. BOOOOOOOOOOOOMM!
SWS out.
No comments:
Post a Comment