Monday, January 10, 2011

I feel the need...the Need for Speed: Undercover review

Maggie Q, your in game undercover contact...huhhuh huh.

Back once again for an SWS review, I am slowly clearing out my backlog and this was the current winner. Need for Speed: Undercover, yeah it came out couple years ago, but it had been collecting dust since I first started playing this title.

I was excited playing this game when it came out, it was suppose to have a story, "oooooooooo" and return to the formula the series had in NFS: Most Wanted. Yeah, not so much. I love the NFS series, I played the hell out of NFS: Underground 1&2 and really liked Most Wanted, Carbon; Pro Street sucked. I loved Underground because of the plausibility of taking a regular everyday car and making it a beast. Mine was a pimp Ford Focus completely carbon fibered out, same color as MY Focus and could blow the doors off of anything in that game, I wish that fake car was real and in my garage...*sigh.  Alas, it is not and the NFS series has not been the same since.

Underground's story was all comic/graphic book style, Most Wanted and Carbon used real actors then blurry/fuzzy them out to look like a comic. Undercover had real actor cut scenes. Every NFS I've played story's- You are new to the neighborhood, but you can race, the best racer in town doesn't like you and you build you racing cred and beat them. Most Wanted and Carbon were neat for the connection they had to each other, Most Wanted you are the new guy and Carbon you were the old, best racer in town, just coming back from the Most Wanted storyline. From what I got from Undercover; you're just some dude brought in to crack the local racer scene by Maggie Q's character. The story has you slowly tearing down the local racers gang one by one. Honestly I lost the story line half way though, snore and the ending was typical backstabing BS.

The racing was the usual fair, start with hot cars to most people and end with the rich and famous, make your nuts tingle thinking about owning and driving one. Woohoo, they had a Focus, started with that and ended with Bugatti Veyron 16.4. Drool.


The racing is fast and furious. Ha! Arcade, slam the wall doing 200MPH and keep driving, racing. The opposing drivers had a serious advantage in this one, if they come up behind or beside you and tap you, you are in the wall or scrub some serious speed. Fucking Annoying! Rage restart many races because of this. Other NFS games you could drive your opponent into the wall with skill, but now a pit maneuver won't even work.

The Rating System

1 Inu - This Inu is bad. It eats baby birds out of trees, craps in you shoes, and scares any potential female friends away with its ferocious demeanor.

2 Inu's - This Inu has been taken to obedience training, but failed. The dog tried hard, but just never got any of the tricks right.

3 Inu's - An average lovable Inu, sure its not gonna win any awards, but it is a faithful companion

4 Inu's - This Inu is special, he knows all of his tricks, everyone loves him, and he sits by your side every time you come back from the bar... alone.

5 Inu's - This is Inu is legendary. He is a dog among puppies. One day there will be movies made about how awesome he is.



What is there to say? It's a NFS game. There was a lot of hype when this game came out that it had a real story and gone back to the roots. I think they tried too hard. The story was "meh" and the racing was tweaked too much from the Most Wanted game in my opinion. Gonna give it a 2 INU out of 5. It didn't do any thing for me and I really like the NFS series. I'll probably skip Shift, not one for real damage, but might give Hot Pursuit a try when the price is right. SWS out.

No comments:

Post a Comment